Varsity Roundup – Week 3

WOMEN’S SOCCER       (5-0)

Thunder Women’s Soccer played two games this past weekend; one against Loyalist on Friday and one against Fleming on Saturday. They Thunder were victorious in both. Friday’s game was a rout and they matched their top offensive output of the season, scoring 12 times on the Lancers. Goal Scorers in that one were Vanessa MacMillan (2), Hailey Martin (1), Melissa Harrison (2), Breanna Humphreys (1), Michelle Wilson (1), Darby Perry (1), Bailey Gassler (2), Andrianna Dmulchalsky (1), and Melissa Baynes (1). Jenna King was in goal for the Thunder and she once again kept the Lancers off the scoreboard. Boxscore

The team travelled from Belleville to Peterborough on Saturday to face the Fleming Knights and they finished with a similar outcome. They scored six goals in this one (Vanessa MacMillan (1), Melissa Harrison (3), Michelle Wilson (2)) and once again held their opponent off the scoreboard, with Jenna King earning another shutout. The team is currently tied for most goals scored in the OCAA with 37 and they have not been scored on yet! Their unblemished record currently has them ranked #3 in the nation by the CCAA and they were recognized by the OCAA as the Team of the Week! Boxscore

Next Games:  The Thunder return to the Algonquin Sports Facility this weekend to take on the Loyalist Lancers on Friday at 6 PM and the Fleming Knights on Saturday at 1 PM. Then they hit the road to face the Vikings in Kingston on Wednesday, September 5th at 6 PM.

MEN’S SOCCER    (4-0)

The men’s team also travelled to Peterborough to take on the Knights on Saturday. They took it to Fleming, scoring six and only letting in one, securing the victory for Algonquin and maintaining their perfect record. Goal scorers for the Thunder include Anthony Legendre (2), Jem Paul (1), Marco Natoli (2), and Andres Sanchez (1). Like the women’s team, they are currently ranked #3 in Canada! Boxscore

Next Games:  The Thunder’s next game is this Saturday at 3:15 PM when they take on the Fleming Knights.  Following that, they head to Kingston to face the Vikings on Wednesday, October 5th at 8 PM.

WOMEN’S RUGBY    (1-2)

The Women’s Rugby team played host to the Loyalist Lancers on Sunday afternoon. The women displayed far more offensive explosiveness this week, scoring 45 points (7 tries, 5 converts) and securing their first win of the season. Tries were scored by Emily Spence (1), Maureen Foran (2), Taylor Bray (1), Jade Desnoyers (1), Salynn Taylor (1), and Emily Weir (1). Emily Spence also kicked five converts for the Thunder, putting her grand total for the afternoon at 15 points, good enough for her to be recognized as the OCAA’s Athlete of the Week for Rugby! Way to go, Emily!  Boxscore

Next Game:  The Thunder hit the road this coming weekend to face the Fleming Knights in Peterborough at 1 PM on Saturday, October 1st.

MEN’S RUGBY    (1-2)

The Men’s Rugby team were also victorious over the Knights on Sunday, also scoring 45 points, while only giving up 24. Tries were scored by Mark Scholl (1), Aidan Corrigan (2), Mike Francis (2), Safwan Malik (1), and Nickolas Wodzak (1). Mark also successfully kicked four converts for Algonquin and Aidan added another. Boxscore

Next Game:  The Thunder head to Peterborough next to take on the Fleming Knights at 3 PM on Saturday, October 1st in the back half of their home-and-home series.



The 2016–17 Thunder Varsity schedules have been updated and posted under their respective links.

For more details about the OCAA Regular Season schedules, please visit the OCAA webpage.

For more information regarding Varsity athletics, please contact Ian Campbell, Athletics Communication and Events.


CCAA - Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association



Thunder Athletics now has an Official Instagram!

Stay up to date on all Thunder News and Events! Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Let’s Get Thunderstruck!

Athletics Newsletter